Creating with Ease

May What I do flow from me like a river, no forcing and no holding back, the way it is with children.

~Rainer Maria Rilke

IMG_20140309_125628_927

~*~FLOW~*~

~*~EASE~*~

~*~NATURAL~*~

~*~JOY~*~

Somewhere along the line in life, most of us picked up this message that things worth having are *~*HARD*~*.  They require hard work, sacrifice, putting off joys or pleasures today so you can “earn” your way to the things you desire someday.

We work against the clock, compete against our peers, fight against our need for better sleep, food or more quality time with the ones we love….all so we can “Earn” something that we perceive we don’t already have or worse yet don’t have the “right” to have unless we toil our way through life. And then once we earn it we are terrified of losing it so the cycle continues in perpetuity.

And our western society and organized religions rewards us generously along the way….in patterns of psychological and material reinforcements.  We silence those pesky doubts that creep in our minds as we collapse into bed at the end of the day, those thoughts that secretly wonder if there isn’t an easier way, a simpler path, the part of us that wonders what this is all about.  But we have bills to pay, mouths to feed, goals to achieve.  So we slip off to sleep fighting for the strength to choose a better thought, maybe listening to stress relief meditations, doing positive thinking affirmations or praying to our God to fill our souls with the strength for tomorrows challenges, while asking for forgiveness for lacking faith in the first place……how many years till retirement?

It’s flipping exhausting.

I believe there is another way to live, to create, to thrive.

I’m experimenting my way to understanding what that looks like for me, my family and my future.  I don’t pretend to have the answers to how it will all work out, but I’ve noticed a profound shift in myself and in everyone and everything I’m coming in contact with since I allowed the belief to take root in my heart and mind.  The belief that I was not created to struggle against but come into harmony with all that surrounds me.

My life is starting to come into center….like the clay does on my wheel.

When I decided to start trying to make money off of my pottery in an intentional way, I filled journals and pages in notebooks with what the business would look like.  I spent weeks and weeks on everything BUT throwing pots.  I had the idea that I would have to force myself to do intentional functional work that I’m not naturally good at and I was going to have to fight against my weakness and power through it to get to what I really wanted.

All of that kept me away from the wheel.

Then one day I decided that I was just going to do something EASY.  What was the simplest functional form that I could think of?  If I have to make 10-15 different categories or types of pots to broaden my production offerings I might as well get moving on something.  So I picked utensil holders and wine chillers.  They are pretty much just simple cylinders.  I could do THAT……

And sure enough could and I did.

Now one category is complete and I found my way design wise to what pleases me and gives me joy to make.  It was easy.

But something else happened in the middle of making utensil holders : other forms naturally started emerging.  I made my first earring/jewelry holder.

It happened because a taller cylinder got too thin at the top and collapsed, I salvaged the lower half and as I was trying to decide what to do with it I remembered the earring holder. I didn’t have anything to lose because the cylinder had already collapsed and my attachment to the outcome of the form fell over with the thin and wet clay.

A couple of minutes later I had my first earring holder!  An unexpected surprise and I discovered that they are actually pretty easy to make as well 🙂

And that’s how the rest of the throwing session went on….all weekend long.

IMG_20140302_121125_830

I showered and went to bed exhausted from a weekend of hard work.  But it was a different kind of hard.  The kind of hard that just means you gave your dream your all, it took your offering and transformed it into beauty and sleep came sweet and quick.

Flow and ease are happening in so many other areas of my life right now as well…..

I’ll save those stories for another day.

I just want to encourage you today to know that it isn’t meant to be so hard.  We don’t have to struggle.  There is a different way if we show up with honestly about what our heart desires, what our passions and secret dreams point us to and stop listening to the old messages of limitation and scarcity.

I dare you to believe in ease, flow and to reclaim the truth in your daily lives.

Namaste

~Carrie

