Play

The creation of something new is not accomplished by the intellect, but by the play instinct arising from inner necessity.  The creative mind plays with the object it loves.

~Carl Jung

IMG_20140223_111745_312

Recently I have been playing with the idea of actually shifting my focus from pottery as a fulfilling hobby to pottery as a way to generate income.  You know how they always say to pay attention to where your mind wanders and that’s how you know what you should really be doing with your life?  Yea, well I spend hours and hours a week thinking about all things clay!  I’m literally obsessed.

So I’ve made a year long commitment to work on transitioning from occasional hobby to daily practice and discovering how I can turn my passions for clay and all things creative into something that I DO….like for a living 🙂  I’m partnering with the magical and marvelous Andrea Schroeder and other creative geniuses over at the Creative Dream Incubator.  We are doing such soulful and dream magnifying work and I’ve actually accomplished and received more clarity in the 4 weeks I’ve been in the Creative Dream Circle than I have in the past 4 years going it alone.  If you have a tiny whisper of a dream or a huge grand vision of a dream, check Andrea out….she is gentle, brilliant and has helped me SO MUCH.

As I’ve been doing this I’ve been experimenting with a whole host of ideas that have been floating around in my head….carving mandalas in pots, using slip to add texture, making more functional pieces and developing a product line that has a wide range of price points, changing my blog and enhancing the frequency and content of my posts, doing workshops ect.  I have pages and pages in my creative journal filled with what I will do.

Dream Journal 024

I starting actually DOING those things this past week.  And so far I have lacerated my finger so badly that I couldn’t throw for 7 days, used up at least 25lbs of clay in what can only be described as ridiculous looking pots, lost more work due to the insanely different conditions in my basement studio compared to my barn studio and realized I have SO FAR to go in terms of expanding my product line and making enough sell-able work to cover my material costs let alone make any pure profit.  I started thinking maybe hobby pottery was really as far as I ever would go with my passion.

And in the end…it very well may be and I will be deeply grateful (as I am now) for a hobby that gives me so much joy and delights my friends and family to use and have in their home.

But in the meantime what keeps me coming back to clay as a hobby is that it’s playful, fun, adventurous and joyful and those and as long as I keep those attributes at the center of my journey and let go of any attachment to what I “think” my emerging business should look like….I might just have a chance at some success at clay as an income generator in my life:)

So stay tuned for some announcements and watch for some exciting changes as I play my way towards and shift @ The Dirty Girl Pottery.  I hope you will enjoy the journey as much as I plan on enjoying it!

 

The “The creation of something new is not accomplished by the intellect, but by the play instinct arising from inner necessity. The creative mind plays with the object it loves.” – Carl Jung – See more at: http://www.innovationexcellence.com/blog/2011/06/20/20-awesome-quotes-on-humor-play-and-creativity/#sthash.BdMUaxEF.dpuf
