Nebula

Ok, time for me to admit something….I’m addicted to Raku. 

I am.

The dictionary defines addiction as: “the state of being enslaved to a habit or practice or to something that is psychologically or physically habit-forming, as narcotics, to such an extent that its cessation causes severe trauma.”

Well…ok, maybe I’m exaggerating a wee bit about the “severe trauma” bit, but OMG!  I can’t stop playing in the fire 🙂

Today’s delight is this little vase glazed with Spectrum’s Nebula raku glaze.  I used this glaze last summer but this one turned out superior in my opinion.  I experimented a little bit with leaving the lid off for about 30-45 seconds before closing the reduction bin up.  This let the fire grow a bit and for the oxygen in the air to produce some striking effects between the copper and gold colors and really made the blue. turquoise colors develop and stand out more.  The recommended firing temperature is between 1600-1700 degrees farenheit.  I took this pot out at 1650.  I have heard that lower temperatures produce a more blue & aqua effect and the higher temperatures produce more of the coppers and golds.  I wanted a good mix of both so I chose the exact middle of the range and I think it worked out quite well.  Tomorrow I’m going to fire another vase a little lower to try to get more blue to come forward.

 Besides playing with fire, the instant gratification and the constant variation and surprises that raku offers, I’m drawn to the mystical and mysterious colors and patterns.  That is especially true with the nebula glaze. In case you didn’t know, a nebula is a cloud of interstellar gas and dust. Here is a pic.
 
 
 
How cool is that?  Look how much it resembles the surface of the pot…..I love it!
 
 
 
