No Happier People

The inside of Oriental Caramel Bowl

 

There are no happier people on this planet than those who decide that they
want something, define what they want, get hold of the feeling of it even
before it’s manifestation and then joyously watch the unfolding as, piece
by piece by piece, it begins to unfold. That’s the feeling of your hands
in the clay.
— Abraham

 

There are a lot of “wants” in that quote.  Lol!

There are so many times in life that I focus on what I want that I lack.  Lack of time to pursue the craft that fills me completely up, lack of time to spend with friends I love, lack of resources to travel as often as I’d like, lack of time and energy to exercise my body so I feel stronger and more healthy….yada yada yada.

But then I remember how much I DO HAVE…..a family that makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside, a job I adore and I’m good at, more time and resources than most, friends who are soul sisters and deep wells of inspiration and joy in my life, a home that allows me all of the comforts and joys I have always dreamed of, a large studio to do my pottery, a strong mind and opportunities to develop it and pursue whatever dreams I choose. (now if I could only choose:) I am blessed.  I am also co-creator of it all and often times I don’t give myself the credit I deserve for dreaming my dreams and holding them steady and firm despite many years of unforeseeable storms and a string of obstacles that set me so far off course I didn’t think I would ever find my way back. 

I have taken a path misunderstood by many, been called nieve and hopeless romantic, told as recently as yesterday that one day I would grow up.  Guess what?  I AM grown up and I’m still building the life that fits *~*ME*~*.  Way before I had heard of Abraham or the power of manifestation I had been living it.  I have youthful journals filled with examples of it and story upon story of imagining a thing I wanted, enjoying the feeling of it even before it was a remote reality and then BOOM all of a sudden it was there in my life, in my hands, in my heart.  I couldn’t name what was happening, It was as natural to me as breathing.  And then one day it wasn’t. 

I think that is why clay has become my touchstone in life.  It’s the same process in its most pure expression. It’s how I remember. 

 I crave my time at the wheel because it’s when the ego goes away, the second mind shuts ups, all the tyranny of shoulds and have to’s disappear and all I hear is the sound of the wet clay slipping through my fingers and a faint whisper of the form that is being manifested right before my eyes.  It’s exhilarating and humbling.  It’s the feeling you have after a long deep meditation, trance or prayer.  Creating a pot is sacred.  Consciously creating our lives is sacred.  As an artist, dreamer, entrepreneur, lover, friend, writer and seeker I will keep seeking to create the life I want one pot and one dream at a time.  May you know the happiness Abraham speaks of and fall back into the wonder of creating your most joyful life!

Namaste

