The Perfect Fall Weekend

080

Fall is my very favorite season!  There is nothing like the cool crisp air, the landscape coming alive with vibrant shades of yellow, orange and red leaves, the smell of a bonfire and roasting marshmellows over the open flames, apple cider, roast pork, fall veggies, friends and family together, the reminder of harvest and the bounty of the land and how it provides for us….it’s all just so very magical!

I just spent the weekend surrounded by all of that and a road trip with my dear friend, Amy, to Brown County where we shopped, ate some amazing fried chicken, drove around the countryside,  and took pictures of the fall leaves, covered bridges and animals we met along the way.

048

We also took part in the “Back Roads of Brown County 8th Annual Driving Tour of Artists’ and Craftsman’s Studios” This was one of the highlights of the weekend for me as I was able to meet and talk with three amazing potters, see their studio’s and purchase some beautiful pottery!

The drive was beautiful

101We visited 3 potteries.  Oak Grove Pottery, Schatz Studio and Gallery and my favorite of all Spears Gallery.   I fell head over heels in love with Larry’s pots!  The textures and colors he creates through the glaze spoke to me and I was in seventh heaven as he talked about his pots, showed me some of his techniques and gave me some pointers on how to achieve similar results.  In our discussion we discovered we ordered clay from the same company and he shared with me the name and number of a distributer who would could help me save money and cut my shipping costs on clay in half! I bought a tumbler from him and would have loved to purchase even more!

I love to meet other artists….to hear their stories…to be inspired by and encourage by their work and their success.  Everyone I met was so very friendly and open and I’m so very very grateful to have had the opportunity to peek into their creative spaces and hear about their process.

083

With all this inspiration I’m headed off to the wheel to get my hands dirty!  I have pots ready to be glazed, some ready for firing and a whole lot of ideas for new pots!

Sending you love and laughter from my little corner of the world!

