My Beloved and My Friend

img008

“This is my beloved and this is my friend.”

~Song of Solomon~

12 years ago today I married my best friend and lover Jason Andrew Anspach.

If you don’t know him let me tell you a little about him.

He is strong and wise and brave.  Kind and fair, loving and sensitive.  He is the smartest person I have ever met and he delights me with his intelligent and perceptive take on every subject from politics, art and spirituality to sports, business and the latest results from consumer reports;)  One of my favorite things to do with Jason is linger over a long meal and talk for hours at a time.  He is interesting and funny, open minded and an excellent communicator.  He stretches me and I love seeing the world through his eyes.

Jason is one of those people who never says a unkind word about anyone.  He is genuine, there isn’t an untrue or false thing about him.  He works hard, never complains and lives his life with an uncommon grace that everyone who meets him recognizes.  He loves cars, wine, great food, music and  experiencing all the best the world has to offer.  He is a dreamer who believes with all his heart that all of his dreams will come true, and they always do (there WILL be a Bentley in our garage one day;).  He moves through this world with a steady positive and simple pace that I have always admired and envied.

I found this quote today:

” Find a guys who calls you beautiful instead of hot, who calls you back when you hang up on him, who will lie under the stars and listen to you heart beat or will stay awake just to watch you sleep…wait for the boy who kisses your forehead, who wants to show you off to the world in sweats, who holds your hand in front of his friends, who thinks you are just as pretty without make-up on.  One who is constantly reminding you of how much he cares and how lucky he is to have you.  The one who turns to his friends and says ‘that’s her’. “

I found that guy….and I married him!

img010

I can’t say that the past 12 years have been straight out of a fairy tale.  Anyone who has been married more than a month knows that sustaining a healthy marriage is hard work.  And we have had our share of working hard to honor, love and cherish one another……and we haven’t always succeeded, it hasn’t always been pretty or uncomplicated.  But the one thing that has never been hard is loving him. The love I have for Jason is the most natural and easy thing that I have ever experienced in my life, and the most true thing I have ever known.  And after 12 years of practice we are getting better and better at honoring each other and learning how to live in an equal and mutually beneficial marriage.

So today I celebrate our love, our friendship, the life we are creating together.    Thank you Jason for loving me, for standing by me through the laughter and the tears, the dreams realized and the dreams shattered and every mundane moment in between.  When we are old and gray I know we will  be sitting on the beach, hand in hand, laughing about what a great ride this life has been!

img014

